COUNCIL'S REPORT



The Council has pleasure in submitting its annual report together with the audited accounts for the year ended 31 December 2011.

Principal place of business

The Law Society of Hong Kong ("The Law Society") is a company limited by guarantee, and is incorporated and domiciled in Hong Kong and has its registered office and principal place of business at 3/F, Wing On House, 71 Des Voeux Road Central, Hong Kong.

Principal activities

The principal activities of The Law Society are to act as the professional and regulatory body for solicitors in Hong Kong. The principal activity and other particulars of The Law Society's subsidiaries are set out in note 8 to the accounts.

Accounts

The results of The Law Society's operations for the year ended 31 December 2011 and the state of The Law Society's affairs at that date are set out in the accounts on pages 160 to 181.



Membership

As at 31 December 2011, there were 8,448 (2010: 7,986) members of The Law Society. The total number of Practising Certificates issued was 7,149 (2010: 6,792). There were 784 (2010: 764) firms of solicitors.

Fixed assets

Movements in fixed assets during the year are set out in note 7 to the accounts.

Donations

Donations by The Law Society during the year amounted to HK\$2,840,000 (2010: HK\$605,600) which represent donations to The Hong Kong Academy of Law Limited of HK\$2,700,000 and Hong Kong Polytechnic University of HK\$140,000.

Bankers

The bankers are The Bank of East Asia Limited, The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited, Hang Seng Bank, Standard Chartered Bank Limited, Wing Lung Bank Limited, Bank of China (Hong Kong) Limited and Bank of Communications Co., Limited.

Council Members

The Council Members during the financial year and up to the date of this report were:

	Regular	Unscheduled		Official
	Meeting	Meeting	Total	Duties
Junius K. Y. Ho, President	25	2	27	3
Dieter Yih, Vice President	24	2	26	0
Ambrose S. K. Lam, Vice President	23	2	25	3
Huen Wong	24	2	26	3
Peter C. L. Lo (re-elected on 26 May 2011)	22	0	22	0
Michael J. Lintern-Smith	24	2	26	0
Ip Shing Hing (resigned on 16 January 2012)	20	1	21	0
Billy W. Y Ma (re-elected on 26 May 2011)	27	1	28	0
Sylvia W. Y. Siu	25	0	25	0
Cecilia K. W. Wong	28	2	30	0
Kenneth S. Y. Ng	21	1	22	0
Stephen W. S. Hung	29	2	31	1
Joseph C. W. Li	23	1	24	1
Amirali B. Nasir	20	1	21	0
Melissa K. Pang (re-elected on 26 May 2011)	26	2	28	0
Thomas S. T. So	27	2	29	0
Angela W. Y. Lee (re-elected on 26 May 2011)	24	1	25	0
Brian W. Gilchrist	24	1	25	0
Gavin P. Nesbitt	28	1	29	0
Denis G. Brock (elected on 26 May 2011)	20	1	21	0
Charles C. C. Chau (co-opted on 28 February 2012)	5	0	5	0

In accordance with article 15(a) of The Law Society's articles of association, at the forthcoming annual general meeting the five members longest in office since election or re-election shall retire but shall be eligible for re-election.

At no time during the year was The Law Society or its subsidiaries a party to any arrangement to enable Members of the Council to acquire benefits by means of acquisition of an interest in The Law Society or any other body corporate.

Except for the related party transactions as disclosed in note 18(a) to the accounts, no contract of significance to which The Law Society or its subsidiaries was a party and in which Members of the Council had a material interest subsisted at the end of the year or at any time during the year.

Auditor

KPMG retire and, being eligible, offer themselves for re-appointment. A resolution for the re-appointment of KPMG as auditors of The Law Society is to be proposed at the forthcoming Annual General Meeting.

By order of the Council

Junius K.Y. Ho

President 27 March 2012